Pete Alonso Albert Pujols Two others for 2022 Home Run Derby

Mets slugger Pete Alonso will attempt to turn into the principal player to win the All-Star Home Run Derby three successive times

against a field that will incorporate the Cardinals' Albert Pujols, Phillies slugger Kyle Schwarber, the Braves' Ronald Acuña Jr. what's more, Washington's Juan Soto.

The New York first baseman said Monday he is one of nine members in the July 18 contest at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles.

"It's a truly fun occasion, and it will be really invigorating," Alonso said before the Mets played at Atlanta on Monday night

"I have a great intend to go into it and, once more, I have a good time. I don't think anybody has a good time than I do, particularly with regards to this occasion."

Dave Jauss, who was the Mets' seat mentor and is currently a Washington Nationals exceptional partner, will pitch to Alonso for the second consecutive Derby.

"Simply have to give him around two pots of espresso for previously and an instance of Bud Lite for later, and he said he's all set," Alonso said.

Alonso hit 74 all out grand slams in last year's Derby at Denver's Coors Field and beat Baltimore's Trey Mancini 23-22

in the last round. Alonso joined Ken Griffey Jr. (1998-99) and Yoenis Céspedes (2013-14) in

bringing home back to back championships. Griffey likewise won in 1994 and is the main three-time champion.